Diamond Inhouse

Precious Stones: Diamond, Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald

Precious and semi-precious stones

The Precious and Semi-precious Stones are the two categories that explain the different varieties of stones that are available for wearing. As there are different varieties that confuse many people.

So, this blog will explain the gemstones that come under the category of Precious Stones.

What is “Precious stone”?

Precious Stones are the Stones that are very rare in nature and have a limited supply.

Here is a list of gemstones that are considered to be precious stones:

  1. Diamond
  2. Ruby
  3. Sapphire
  4. Emerald


Precious Stones

The word Diamond has been derived from the Greek word ADAMAS which is invincible. They are one of the hardest stones available on the earth with the greatest dispersion of light, shine, and transparency. Under the Spotlights, the diamond shows the ability to reflect light like a rainbow.

To understand more about the diamonds, we need to understand the 4 C’s of the diamond first.

First C: Cut
Second C: Color
Third C: Clarity
Fourth C: Carat

You can read here in detail about the 4 C’s of the diamond and the buying guide for the diamonds.

The Birthstone for the month of April is Diamond. The people wear diamonds for luxury as well as for the incremental of the inner strength due to its quality of hardness.


Precious Stones

Ruby comes in many shades like Blood red, blueish red, pinky red, etc. The rarity combined with the clarity makes it one of the expensive and King of all the Precious stones. The Pigeon Ruby, which comes as a dark red with a hint of blue in it is considered to be the most desirable and most expensive Ruby.

The Birthstone for the month of July is Ruby. It is believed to have some health benefits like relief from irregular blood pressure, cardiac problems. The valuations of the stone depending on its clarity.

Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Madagascar, and Thailand are famous places to locate the best ruby.


Precious Stones



The word Sapphire comes from the meaning of the bluestone. Sapphire also goes by the name of “PUKHRAJ” or “NEELAM”. Sapphire comes in a  variety of colors, but the most famous are Blue, Yellow, and Black. It has a remarkable hardness of 9 on the Mohs scale of hardness. It belongs to the planet Jupiter, which conveys wisdom, fortune, prosperity, and Self-confidence.

They are the birthstone for the month of September. Pukhraj is the Yellow color Sapphire and Neelam is the Blue color sapphire.

Colombia, India (Kashmir), Madagascar, Thailand, Sri Lanka, and many more places to locate the best Sapphire stones.


Precious Stones

Emerald is a green-colored precious gemstone. It often comes in the shade of bluish-green to dark green with the hardness level of 7.5-8 on the Mohs scale. Emerald is one of the most popular gemstones of all as it is associated with the pursuit of:

  • Knowledge
  • Wisdom
  • Truth

There are many benefits of wearing this gemstone-like getting success in business or jobs, being creative, knowledge-seeking projects, helps in bringing healing into your life. Emerald Gemstones are also believed to attract love into your life and wearing them near to the heart, will make the choices clearer.  It works as a guide in your life.

These were the four Precious stones explained in short.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *